February 20

Standard

Living Sober through the Psalms

Sober Thought for the Day
“The attainment of greater humility is the foundation principle of each of AA’s Twelve Steps, for without some degree of humility, no alcoholic can stay sober at all.  ”Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, p. 70

I don’t learn humility in my head, through knowledge and study, or through reading about it.  Humility is fostered in my heart. An alcoholic living a sober life, and all that entails, is living a life of humility because in order to stay away from the drink, I have to remember who I am–an alcoholic. I have a flaw, a defect. I’m not perfect. That I cannot drink like other people is something I need to remind myself of each morning. Piling up days in sobriety can very easily lead me to complacency where I forget how alcohol affected me so many days, weeks, months or years ago. Daily I…

View original post 188 more words

Leave a Reply

