February 16

Standard

Living Sober through the Psalms

Sober Thought for the Day
“The great fact is this, and nothing less: That we have had deep and effective spiritual experiences* which have revolutionized our whole attitude toward life, toward our fellows and toward God’s universe. The central fact of our lives today is the absolute certainty that our Creator has entered into our hearts and lives in a way that is indeed miraculous. He has commenced to accomplish those things for us that we could never do by ourselves.” AA Big Book, page 25, paragraph 3

Sometimes I wonder if when I hit my “bottom” with alcohol abuse, was this my spiritual experience?  Hitting my bottom, almost losing my children over my drinking, was that a spiritual experience?  I think “hitting bottom” is simply surrendering in prayer, “Dear God, I’m finished. This is as far as I am willing to go in this direction. Please pull me back…

View original post 187 more words

Leave a Reply

