February 14

Standard

Living Sober through the Psalms

Sober Thought for the Day
Recovery is about connection, and we experience this connection through relationships of various kinds. We practice our spirituality through relationships. We practice living our program through our relationships. We cut off relationships with people who are not safe or who were our drinking buddies. We change people, places and things. We form new relationships. page 201, A Woman’s Guide to Recovery

When I first got sober, it was tough because my spouse was my drinking buddy. I had to learn how to live and relate with him on an entirely new playing field. This was tough, but not impossible. There were feelings of jealousy and self-pity when he would have a drink and I “couldn’t.”  I couldn’t end my relationship with my spouse, so I ended my attachment to the drinking side of our relationship.  Once I detached from the idea of drinking with my…

View original post 334 more words

Leave a Reply

