December 4

Standard

Sober Thought of the Day
“No animal ever invented anything as bad as drunkenness – or so good as drink.”
~ G. K. Chesterton

Today’s Saint
“It is not the actual physical exertion that counts towards a one’s progress, nor the nature of the task, but by the spirit of faith with which it is undertaken.” (St. Francis Xavier, Priest)

Psalm of the Day
Responsorial Psalm PS 23:1-3a, 3b-4, 5, 6

R. (6cd) I shall live in the house of the Lord all the days of my life.

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
In verdant pastures he gives me repose;
Beside restful waters he leads me;
he refreshes my soul.
R. I shall live in the house of the Lord all the days of my life.

He guides me in right paths
for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk in the dark valley
I fear no evil; for you are at my side
With your rod and your staff
that give me courage.
R. I shall live in the house of the Lord all the days of my life.

You spread the table before me
in the sight of my foes;
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
R. I shall live in the house of the Lord all the days of my life.

Only goodness and kindness follow me
all the days of my life;
And I shall dwell in the house of the LORD
for years to come.
R. I shall live in the house of the Lord all the days of my life.

6 responses »

  1. Glad to see you I have been home bound for weeks fybromialgia ect, so contact with others is good no one makes calls around here so alone i am .I,m learning how close the Lord is to me .I can stop sadness by asking the saints for help .St, Pio helped me yesterday with his thoughts on how we should deal with sadness.Happy Advent ,He is coming.mary t

    • Oh mary I get it. I’m so sorry. Fibromyalgia is horrible to live with. I’m like you. When I’m in pain I just withdraw and isolate. I don’t think that is smart of us. Thank you for reaching out. We are all in this thing called life together God wants us to do this together.

      • Hi 9, I am happy I found you site. I am a life long catholic and come from a long line of catholic alcoholics. As I read the story of AA I see incredible common ground with catholic spirituality, notwithstanding its Protestant roots. I think it has to so with bill aw” attention to the cry of the alcoholic heart and his faithful to faith in service of others. In any event, I am looking for someone to process what I feel is a catholic spiritual awakening in me through. My AA experience.

      • Awesome. I think your experience us very common people through AA come back to their riots. I need to write more on my blog! I left work take over!. You can always email me and I’d be happy to correspond with you! If you go through my contact form them I’ll have your email too,

Leave a Reply

