June 18

Standard

Sober Thought of the Day
“I mean, that’s at least in part why I ingested chemical waste – it was a kind of desire to abbreviate myself. To present the CliffNotes of the emotional me, as opposed to the twelve-column read.
I used to refer to my drug use as putting the monster in the box. I wanted to be less, so I took more – simple as that. Anyway, I eventually decided that the reason Dr. Stone had told me I was hypomanic was that he wanted to put me on medication instead of actually treating me. So I did the only rational thing I could do in the face of such as insult – I stopped talking to Stone, flew back to New York, and married Paul Simon a week later.”
― Carrie Fisher, Wishful Drinking

Today’s Saint
“If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten that we belong to each other.”
–Blessed Mother Teresa

Psalm of the Day
Responsorial Psalm PS 146:2, 5-6ab, 6c- 7, 8-9a

R. (1b) Praise the Lord, my soul!

Praise the LORD, my soul!
I will praise the LORD all my life;
I will sing praise to my God while I live.
R. Praise the Lord, my soul!

Blessed he whose help is the God of Jacob,
whose hope is in the LORD, his God,
Who made heaven and earth,
the sea and all that is in them.
R. Praise the Lord, my soul!

Who keeps faith forever,
secures justice for the oppressed,
gives food to the hungry.
The LORD sets captives free.
R. Praise the Lord, my soul!

The LORD gives sight to the blind.
The LORD raises up those who were bowed down;
the LORD loves the just.
The LORD protects strangers.
R. Praise the Lord, my soul!

Leave a Reply

