May 16

Standard

Sober Thought of the Day
“Fat, drunk and stupid is no way to go through life, son.” –Dean Vernon Wormer, Animal House

Today’s Saint
It is better not to allow anger, however just and reasonable, to enter at all, than to admit it in ever so slight a degree; once admitted, it will not be easily expelled, for, though at first but a small plant, it will immediately grow into a large tree.”
–Saint Augustine

Psalm of the Day
Responsorial Psalm PS 16:1-2a and 5, 7-8, 9-10, 11

R. (1) Keep me safe, O God; you are my hope.

Keep me, O God, for in you I take refuge;
I say to the LORD, “My Lord are you.”
O LORD, my allotted portion and my cup,
you it is who hold fast my lot.
R. Keep me safe, O God; you are my hope.

I bless the LORD who counsels me;
even in the night my heart exhorts me.
I set the LORD ever before me;
with him at my right hand I shall not be disturbed.
R. Keep me safe, O God; you are my hope.

Therefore my heart is glad and my soul rejoices,
my body, too, abides in confidence;
Because you will not abandon my soul to the nether world,
nor will you suffer your faithful one to undergo corruption.
R. Keep me safe, O God; you are my hope.

2 responses »

  1. I have been following your blog for awhile now and I look forward to your posts. I have recently been baptized and my higher power is God in all his glory. He has changed my life and given me a second chance. Now I have the ability to see life through new eyes and all the beauty of the world I have been missing out on. Thank you for your inspiring words and posts! Keep Writing!

  2. oh amylong1933 your comment makes me happy! so happy for you, too and your baptism and new life!!! gives me chills. i love stories like yours. God bless you!!!!

Leave a Reply

