April 26

Standard

Sober Thought of the Day
“You speak of my drinking, yet you don’t know my thirst”
―    Scottish Proverb

Today’s Saint
As iron is fashioned by fire and on the anvil, so
in the fire of suffering and under the weight of trials, our souls receive that
form which our Lord desires them to have.
–St. Madeline Sophie Barat

Psalm of the Day
Responsorial Psalm PS 2:6-7, 8-9, 10-11ab

R. (7bc) You are my Son; this day I have begotten you.
“I myself have set up my king on Zion, my holy mountain.” I will proclaim the decree of the LORD: The LORD said to me, “You are my Son; this day I have begotten you.” R. You are my Son; this day I have begotten you.
“Ask of me and I will give you the nations for an inheritance and the ends of the earth for your possession. You shall rule them with an iron rod; you shall shatter them like an earthen dish.” R. You are my Son; this day I have begotten you.
And now, O kings, give heed; take warning, you rulers of the earth. Serve the LORD with fear, and rejoice before him; with trembling rejoice. R. You are my Son; this day I have begotten you.
Leave a Reply

