April 25

Standard

Sober Thought of the Day
“He dozed off, into a dreamless oblivion, for what seemed like seconds but was in fact hours, and awoke hungover, the inner surface of his skull pulsing like a single, giant nerve being chewed by some ruminant animal.”
―    Alex Shakar,    Luminarium

Today’s Saint
“It was pride that changed angels into devils; it
is humility that makes men as angels.”
–Saint Augustine

Psalm of the Day
Responsorial Psalm PS 89:2-3, 6-7, 16-17

R. (2) For ever I will sing the goodness of the Lord.
The favors of the LORD I will sing forever; through all generations my mouth shall proclaim your faithfulness. For you have said, “My kindness is established forever”; in heaven you have confirmed your faithfulness. R. For ever I will sing the goodness of the Lord.
The heavens proclaim your wonders, O LORD, and your faithfulness, in the assembly of the holy ones. For who in the skies can rank with the LORD? Who is like the LORD among the sons of God? R. For ever I will sing the goodness of the Lord.
Blessed the people who know the joyful shout; in the light of your countenance, O LORD, they walk. At your name they rejoice all the day, and through your justice they are exalted. R. For ever I will sing the goodness of the Lord.

 

2 responses »

  1. Hi, Number 9! I am so confused, and please forgive me, I am not the most tech-savvy person in the world… do you write more than one blog? I am Catholic, and an alcoholic, and a member of AA, so I am not sure which of your blogs I should be following? Let me know which one makes the most sense for me!

    • Hi Miracle! Either one, actually. I have a separate blog called Living Sober Through the Psalms where I just post once a day the Psalms and a quote. My Catholic Alcoholic blog is where I babble on about things. Thank you for stopping by! I will be catching up on my blog reading tonight and will zip on over to yours for sure.

Leave a Reply

