April 20

Standard

Sober Thought of the Day
“The food we were given was no more than eatable, but the patron was not mean about drink; he allowed us two litres of wine a day each, knowing that if a plongeur is not given two litres he will steal three.”  George Orwell,    Down and Out in Paris and London

Today’s Saint
“It is not fitting, when one is in God’s service, to have a gloomy face or a chilling look.” Saint Francis of Assisi

Psalm of the Day
Responsorial Psalm PS 116:12-13, 14-15, 16-17

R. (12) How shall I make a return to the Lord for all the good he has done for me? or: R. Alleluia. How shall I make a return to the LORD for all the good he has done for me? The cup of salvation I will take up, and I will call upon the name of the LORD R. How shall I make a return to the Lord for all the good he has done for me? or: R. Alleluia. My vows to the LORD I will pay in the presence of all his people. Precious in the eyes of the LORD is the death of his faithful ones. R. How shall I make a return to the Lord for all the good he has done for me? or: R. Alleluia. O LORD, I am your servant; I am your servant, the son of your handmaid; you have loosed my bonds. To you will I offer sacrifice of thanksgiving, and I will call upon the name of the LORD. R. How shall I make a return to the Lord for all the good he has done for me? or: R. Alleluia.

One response »

Leave a Reply

