March 24

Standard

Sober Thought of the Day
“Passivity is corrosive to the soul; it feeds on feelings of integrity and pride, and it can be as tempting as a drug.”  ― Caroline Knapp, Drinking: A Love Story

Wow-this is the part of the Psalms Jesus was reciting when he was dying on the cross. My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? He shows us it is natural to feel this way and when we do the thing we are to do is cry out to God for help. I did that. I used to yell at God, tell him “free will was a stupid idea,” because I wanted to stop drinking but couldn’t do it.  Number 9

Psalm of the Day
Responsorial Psalm PS 22:8-9, 17-18, 19-20, 23-24

R. (2a) My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?

All who see me scoff at me;
they mock me with parted lips, they wag their heads:
“He relied on the LORD; let him deliver him,
let him rescue him, if he loves him.”
R. My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?

Indeed, many dogs surround me,
a pack of evildoers closes in upon me;
They have pierced my hands and my feet;
I can count all my bones.
R. My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?

They divide my garments among them,
and for my vesture they cast lots.
But you, O LORD, be not far from me;
O my help, hasten to aid me.
R. My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?

I will proclaim your name to my brethren;
in the midst of the assembly I will praise you:
“You who fear the LORD, praise him;
all you descendants of Jacob, give glory to him;
revere him, all you descendants of Israel!”
R. My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?

Today’s Saint
“He who works with his hands is a laborer. He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman. He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.”  Saint Francis of Assisi

 

 

Leave a Reply

