March 18

Standard

Sober Thought of the Day
“For art to exist, for any sort of aesthetic activity or perception to exist, a certain physiological precondition is indispensable: intoxication.”  Friedrich Nietzsche

With all due respect to Mr Nietzsche, I disagree. Fearing sobriety would take away creativity must be an idea an alcoholic came up with in order to justify her continued drinking. I believed it though. I thought if I stopped drinking I would lose my creativity, be unable to pen an interesting sentence. In fact, much creativity is lost in the world because of alcoholism and drug abuse.  Number 9

Psalm of the Day
Responsorial Psalm PS 23:1-3A, 3B-4, 5, 6

R. (4ab) Even though I walk in the dark valley I fear no evil; for you are at my side.

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
In verdant pastures he gives me repose;
Beside restful waters he leads me;
he refreshes my soul.
R. Even though I walk in the dark valley I fear no evil; for you are at my side.

He guides me in right paths
for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk in the dark valley
I fear no evil; for you are at my side
With your rod and your staff
that give me courage.
R. Even though I walk in the dark valley I fear no evil; for you are at my side.

You spread the table before me
in the sight of my foes;
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
R. Even though I walk in the dark valley I fear no evil; for you are at my side.

Only goodness and kindness follow me
all the days of my life;
And I shall dwell in the house of the LORD
for years to come.
R. Even though I walk in the dark valley I fear no evil; for you are at my side.

Today’s Faith
“Have you not seen that in our days
Of any whose story, song or art
Delights us, our sincerest praise
Means, when all’s said, ‘You break my heart?”CS Lewis

Leave a Reply

