February 17

Standard

Sober Thought of the Day
We realized,  “(a) That we were alcoholic and could not manage our own lives. (b) That probably no human power could have relieved our alcoholism. (c) That God could and would if He were sought. Being convinced, we were at Step Three, which is that we decided to turn our will and our life over to God as we understood Him.” AA Big Book, Page 60, paragraph 4

Admitting I have a problem with alcohol was not difficult. The evidence was everywhere. The point then was to ask myself, “What am I going to do about this?” Do I accept this truth about myself and keep living that way?  Or, do I accept this truth about myself and decide to change?  Which choice will I make? Number 9

Psalm of the Day
Responsorial Psalm PS 91:1-2, 10-11, 12-13, 14-15

R. (cf. 15b) Be with me, Lord, when I am in trouble.

You who dwell in the shelter of the Most High,
who abide in the shadow of the Almighty,
say to the LORD, “My refuge and fortress,
my God in whom I trust.”
R. Be with me, Lord, when I am in trouble.

No evil shall befall you,
nor shall affliction come near your tent,
For to his angels he has given command about you,
that they guard you in all your ways.
R. Be with me, Lord, when I am in trouble.

Upon their hands they shall bear you up,
lest you dash your foot against a stone.
You shall tread upon the asp and the viper;
you shall trample down the lion and the dragon.
R. Be with me, Lord, when I am in trouble.

Because he clings to me, I will deliver him;
I will set him on high because he acknowledges my name.
He shall call upon me, and I will answer him;
I will be with him in distress;
I will deliver him and glorify him.
R. Be with me, Lord, when I am in trouble.

Today’s Saint
“If we pray, we will believe; If we believe, we will love; If we love, we will serve.” Blessed Teresa of Calcutta

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

